Wednesday, July 8, 2020

MAWA announces 2019-2020 award winners

The Maine Amateur Wrestling Alliance has selected its 2019-2020 season award winners and would like to congratulate all of the recipients.
The John Caramilhalis High School Wrestler of the Year has been awarded to Oxford Hills' JJ Worster, who had an incredible senior year. He won the Class A state championship and would go on to make a run all the way to the New England finals at 220 pounds where he dropped a tough 3-2 decision.
The James Aguiar College Wrestler of the Year is former Marshwood standout Cody Hughes. The Virginia Tech senior qualified for the NCAA Division I Championships, which were unfortunately wiped out due to COVID-19.
The Gary Kent Academic Scholarship has been awarded to Mountain Valley's Evrit Roy. The senior wrapped up his high school career with a second-place finish at Class B states. He will be attending the University of Southern Maine where he plans to wrestle for coach Mike Morin's squad.
The MAWA Coach of the Year award is going to Noble's Kevin Gray. The Knights' coach led his squad to its first state championship since 2011. Noble also rolled to the first-ever Class A duals state title.
The MAWA Person of the Year award is going to someone who has been capturing all the action for years — photographer Jason Gendron. While he is located in southern Maine, he travels all over the state and even to New Englands and national tournaments to get photos of Maine's wrestlers.
Gendron has also donated some of his proceeds to such causes as the "Win for Spencer and Pin a Cure" fundraiser that raises money to cure Sanfilippo, which is a rare disease that a former Wells wrestler's son is battling.
Hall of Fame ceremony canceled
Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the 2020 Hall of Fame ceremony has been canceled. There will be no Hall of Fame nominees announced this year.
The MAWA will hold its next Hall of Fame ceremony in August of 2021. Look for more details on the MAWA website and Facebook page.