Thursday, July 10, 2008

Kalman, Tuttle inducted into wrestling hall

PictureClick image to enlarge
Courtesy Photo Janet Kalman, widow of Keith Kalman, who was inducted posthumously into the Maine Wrestling Alliance Hall of Fame, speaks on behalf of her late husband after receiving the plaque which was presented by Dennis Bishop.

SANFORD—Two former individuals associated with the Sanford High School wrestling program were inducted into the Maine Wrestling Alliance Hall of Fame a week ago.

They are wrestler John Tuttle, who received his plaque from his brother Jim, and Keith Kalman, who was honored posthumously. Keith's wife Janet was on hand to receive Keith's Hall of Fame plaque which was presented to her by Dennis Bishop.

In his induction speech, Tuttle described the moment as "a truly humbling experience, an honor I will cherish forever." He named coaches who he was associated with as strong contrubutors to the success of the Sanford wrestling program. "If you had John Caramihalis, Rick Sparkowich, Ron Sparkowich, Keith Kalman and Gary Kent, it was hard not to be a champion," he said.

Tuttle also credited his first wreslting coach, Don Beals, with playing a key role in local wrestling. "I would be remiss if I didn't mention Don Beals, my wrestling coach at Sanford Junior High School," said Tuttle. "He was the first physical education teacher in the state to require wrestling as mandatory in his gym classes."

Finally, Tuttle had words of praise for Kalman. "Coach Kalman was by far one of the most humble people I've met in my life. He never bragged about his accomplishments which include playing in the Tangerine Bowl for the University of Maine football team. He was my wrestling coach my senior year in 1970.and we became like brothers because of the closeness of our ages. I was a senior and it was his first year of coaching and teaching."

Also taking pace at the banquet were the presentation of a special award to Sanford high wrestler Paul Rivard, and the honoring of David DeVoll as "Person of the Year".

The John Caramihalis "Wrestler of the Year" award was presented to Carlin Dubay and the "Coach of the Year Award" went to Joe Pistone.

Also admitted to the Hall of Fame was former Bonny Eagle wrestler Adam Farrington who was presented the award by Ted Reese.